National Seniors
Can Yco retain the crown
May 1978

After one week of overly-light and heavy basketball at the Rizal Memorial Coliseum, punctuated by heaven-sent victories and massacres, the 1978 National Seniors basketball championships got through with the 12-team semis to start with the finals featuring the tournament's top six teams.
Surviving the tightly-contested semifinals were defending champion Yco, Yanmar, Solid Mills, Frigidaire, ITM and Romago. Eliminated were San Beda, UP, FEU-Glenmore, JRC-ACB, San Miguel and Sunrice.
Expect to figure prominently in the championship round are Yco, Frigidaire, ITM and darkhorse Yanmar. Yco, playing minus ace gunners Jimmy Manansala and Abe Monzon who have turned pro, still remains the heavy favorite to retain the title all because of its rich lineup. It has acquired the services of Bonifacio de Jesus, the tallest amateur player at 6-8, and strong boy Nilo Cruz from the now-disbanded Manila Bank.
Yco still has national players Joseph Herrera, Ely Capacio, Gregorio Gozum and Nat Castillo, along with Alex Tan, Totoy Gagan, Ben Brillantes, Mando Yango and James Payne. Frigidaire, coach by Nat Canson, has the same lineup that placed fourth in the last MICAA, an addition, in the person of Amadeo Sagarbarria, an ex-Banker, has bolstered Frigidaire's frontline, still with the team are Joel Banal, Federico Lauchengco, Eduardo Merced, Errol David, Roberto Concepcion, Rafael Sison, Leopoldo Herrera, Rolly Pineda, Ramon Cruz, Joey Marquez and Jovenal Francisco.
ITM, with Romulo Mamaril, Cesar Yabut, Ric Mallari, Bien Dela Cruz, Efren Manila, Bebeng Martinez and the return of Wilfredo Tanduyan in the lineup, is enjoying the reputation of a team most likely to give Yco the stiff fight for the crown.
Yanmar, who came out a surprising runner up to Ameer-JM in the last interclub, is led by the burly Ken Bradley, Boy Cantada's team is expect to provide the hustle to the other quintet because of Bradley's dominating presence. Bradley will be supported by Billy Abarrientos, Pepito Malanay, Fred Demetrio, ex-Bankers Dave Hester, Butch Orozco and Rod Manalaysay.