+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: 11th Season

  1. #1

    11th Season

    MANILA, Philippines - STI Colleges got back at last year’s finals tormentor University of Manila, fashioning out a 90-72 rout at the start of the 11th NAASCU (National Athletic Association of Schools and Universities) basketball championships before an overflow crowd at the Makati Coliseum yesterday.

    Maclean Sabellina turned in a double-double performance of 23 points and 12 rebounds as he powered the Olympians, handled by coach Vic Ycasiano, to victory in a rematch of last year’s title showdown.

    Jasper Melano and Lester Bocablo added 12 and 11 points, respectively, for STI.

    Jeff Alvin Viernes led the Jojo Castillo-mentored UM with 15 points, while last year’s MVP Eugene Torres and Jay-Ar Manuel added 14 points apiece.

    The Hawks, seeking their seventh title in 11 years, played without slotman Edwin Tamayo and last year’s scoring champion Rhandelle Colina.

    Now on its 11th year, the 10-team tournament formally opened yesterday with the traditional parade of teams and dance performances of member-teams.

    Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas (SBP) executive director Sonny Barrios, PBA commissioner Chito Salud and MVP Sports Foundation head Al Panlilio delivered inspirational messages.

    NAASCU president Dr. Ernesto Jay Adalem of host St. Clare College-Caloocan welcomed the guests and participants during the two-hour long opening ceremony.
    Mhel "the Pogi" Garrido
    The Real Aga Muhlach

  2. #2

    Re: 11th Season

    UNIVERSITY of Manila brought down STI Colleges, 69-66, to crown itself as the NAASCU (National Athletic Association of Schools, Colleges and Universities) champion for the seventh time in 11 years.

    Led by the 1-2 punch of Jeff Alvin Viernes and Eugene Torres, the Hawks made the baskets that mattered most in the closing minutes to frustrate the Olympians and capture the title for the second straight year at the Makati Coliseum.

    Viernes, a 5-9 guard from Delfin Albano, Isabela, scatterd 24 points, while Torres, a 6-2 power-forward, added 20 points to power the Zycare Pharma-supported Hawks to another well-deserved title.

    “The boys deserved to win the title again. They worked hard for it from the start,” said UM coach Jojo Castillo.

    “After our opening-day loss to STI more than two months ago, the boys resolved to play better and retain our title,” added Castillo, who is being ably assisted by long-time f riend Rex Manansala.

    With two titles under his belt, Castillo is now only three championships short of matching the feat of former UM coach Loreto “Ato” Tolentino, who steered the Hawks to an unprecedented five straight titles from 2001-2005.

    After losing to STI in 2006, UM fell on lean times from 2007 to 2009 before winning the title again, this time under Castillo, against STI last year.

    Viernes, who was voted as this year’s MVP and the league’s scoring champion, and Torres, a member of the mythical First Team, were primary responsible for the Hawks’ smashing showing.

    The two players keyed UM’s scoring attack that gave the Hawks a 68-62 lead with only 1:23 left.

    And although the Olympians managed to threaten anew at 66-68 with still 21 seconds left, Jayson Ibay split his free throws for the final score.

    Jerald Bautista topscored for the Olympians with 15 points, followed by Maclean Sabellina with 12 and Cedric Ablaza with 10.

    In the battle for third place, Informatics International Colleges defeated Cetro Escolar University, 84-59.

    Mark Montuano fired 19 points to power the coach Jonathan Reyes-mentored Icons to victory.

    John David Orbeta led CEU with 13 markers.

    Joining Viernes and Torres in the Mythical Five were Sabellina, Montuano and Orbeta.

    Other individual awardees were Jay-Ar Manuel of UM, who bagged his second straight rebounding title; Fil-AM rookie Andrew Rivera of UM, who earned the Assist King title; Jasprit Sanghera of Informatics, who emerged as the best in shot blocks; and Jiovanni Jalalon of Informatics, who was tops in steals.

    NAASCU president Dr. Jay Adalem awarded the trophies to the winners and runner-ups, assisted by commissioner Igmidio “Boy” Cahanding.

    The scores:

    Battle for third

    Informatics (84) -- Montuano 19, Jalalon 16, L impat 12, Acuna 12, K Santos 9, Tan 6, Sanghera 4, Ungco 4, Abiang 2, Sy 0, Blanco 0, Limin 0, Robles 0,

    CEU (59) -- Orbeta 13, Parale 9, Dumapig 8, Guillen 6, Babad 6, Lobaton 5, Alquisalas 5, Rublico 3, Lamosa 2, Chua 2, Magbitang 0, Beldad 0, Mejos 0, Garcia 0, Jasmin 0,

    Quarterscores : 24-19, 44-25, 60-40, 84-59.


    UM (69) -- Viernes 24, Torres 20, Manuel 8, Rivera 8, Ancheta 8, Ibay 1, Ruiz 0,.

    STI (66) -- Bautista 15, Sabellina 12, Ablaza 10, Gabo 8, Moreno 8, Melano 4, Morales 4, Ohandya 2, Riva 2, Bocablo 1, Ihalas 0, Chavez 0.

    Quarterscores: 16-19, 38-31, 55-46, 69-66.
    Mhel "the Pogi" Garrido
    The Real Aga Muhlach

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Visitor count:
Copyright © 2005 - 2013.