+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Lyceum Lady Pirate Spikers

  1. #1

    Lyceum Lady Pirate Spikers

    WNCAA volleyball records
    -Womens National Collegiate Athletic Association-

    1990 Champion
    1991 Champion
    1992 Champion
    1993 Champion
    1994 1st runner-up
    1995 Champion
    1996 Champion
    1997 Champion
    1998 Champion
    1999 Champion
    2000 Champion
    2001 Champion
    2002 Champion
    2003 Champion
    2004 Champion
    2005 Champion
    2006 Champion
    2007 Champion
    2008 Champion

    -Prominent players-
    Mary Rose Cochico (1992 MVP)
    Erline Destacamento
    Nenita Manhilot
    Sherilyn Carrillo (2006 & 2007 MVP)
    Angelica Bigcas (2002 & 2004 MVP)
    Beverly Boto (2005 MVP)
    Bernadette Satsatin (2008 MVP)
    Rizza Rubio (2003 MVP)
    Dahlia Cruz
    Joana Marie Fernando
    Lizel Paulo
    Jenny Rose Garcia
    Shella Marga
    Mary Grace Babalo
    Cannete Garcia

  2. #2

    Re: Lyceum Lady Pirate Spikers

    @ Lyceum spikers also dominated the WNCAA National games held in San Fernando, Pampanga, Bicol and Baguio City.

  3. #3

    Re: Lyceum Lady Pirate Spikers

    Lyceum completes WNCAA double

    Journal Online

    LYCEUM of the Philippines University completed a title double on Sunday when it copped its fourth straight basketball crown and 10th consecutive volleyball title at the St. Scholasticaís College gym.

    The Lady Pirates ovecame an erratic second half which saw them trail by eight points to turn back the College of St. Benilde Blazers, 52-28, and complete a sweep of the best-of-three finals.

    Arlene Gesalan topscored with 15 points while Jona Maye Yasay added 11 to make up for the measly three-point production of season Most Valuable Player Jessica Polindey.

    The Lyceum spikers also swept Rizal Technological University with a 25-18, 20-25, 22-25, 25-20, 15-11 Game 2 victory to take home their 10th straight championship.

    Prior to Game 2, the Intramuros-based Lady Pirates have never dropped a set in the entire season.

    In the Senior B volleyball finals, University of Asia and the Pacific likewise prevailed over Centro Escolar University, 21-25, 25-19, 25-20, 21-25, 15-10, to complete a two-game sweep.

    UA&P forced a winner-take-all match for the Senior B basketball plum after besting La Consolacion College Manila, 51-46.

    UA & P can duplicate Lyceumís twin championship feat with another win on Sunday.

    La Consolacion took Game 1, 58-57.

    Other MVP awardees were UA&Pís Auroro Biolena (Sr B basketball), Lyceumís Joy Gazelle Cases (Sr A volleyball) and UA&Pís Selina Artadi (Sr B volleyball).

    The 40th WNCAA is being supported by Monster Radio RX 93.1, Goody, IBC 13, Manila Bulletin, Sports Digest, Muscle Tape, Burlington BioFresh, MJC Press and Macgraphics Carranz.

    In senior futsal at the UA&P gym, RTU blanked Miriam College, 2-0, to remain on top at 4-0.

    St. Scholasticaís College, meanwhile, secured at least a tie for a semifinal berth in junior volleyball when it dealt Miriam a 25-14, 25-20, 20-25, 25-14 beating on Saturday at the CKSC Narra gym.

    The Scions remained unbeaten in six matches while the Katipuneras fell for the first time in six starts.

    In junior basketball, leader Chiang Kai Shek College and defending champion Miriam College have secured the first two Final Four slots.

    Chiang Kai Shek posted a 67-25 trampling of Philippine Womenís University and will go for a nine-game sweep on Saturday against De La Salle Zobel.

    Miriam, on the other hand, dumped San Beda Alabang, 63-33, for a 7-1 slate.

    Host Angelicum College, DLSZ and rookie St. Jude Catholic School will contest the last two berths.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Visitor count:
Copyright © 2005 - 2013.