View RSS Feed

Henry Liao


Rate this Entry
For the second time in six years, Cebu City will host the 10th Asian University Basketball Championship (AUBC) from October 22-26.

Six collegiate teams, including a pair of foreign entries from the People’s Republic of China and South Korea, are taking part in the prestigious regional competitions to be held at the tradition-steeped Cebu Coliseum.

The local participants will be spearheaded by the top schools from the Cebu Schools Athletic Foundation, Inc. (CESAFI) – the University of the Visayas Green Lancers, Southwestern University Cobras, and the University of San Jose-Recoletos Jaguars. UV, bannered by veterans John Michael Abad, Chris Perolino and Alfred Codilla, is the reigning CESAFI titlist, having beaten SWU, 3-2, in the 2013 finals to become the first team in league history to capture the crown after dropping the first two games of the best-of-five championship series.

Huaqiao University of the People’s Republic of China and Muongji University of South Korea, both of which are former AUBC champions, will be around to test the mettle of the best collegiate squads from Sugbu, the Queen City of the South.

Muongji University of Korea topped the 4th AUBC tournament hosted by Dumaguete City in 2005.

Huaqiao University, on the other hand, whipped local bet University of the Visayas (powered by a young Greg Slaughter) during the 6th AUBC finals held in Cebu City in 2008. An international school, Huaqiao is located in Xiamen, China and has been supportive of AUBF activities since 2005.

In 2011, Guangdong University of PROC bested a Taiwanese squad to annex the crown at the Bintulu Stadium in Sarawak, Malaysia. The following year, the University of the East Red Warriors, led by Roi Sumang, Chris Javier and Cameroonian import Charles Mammie, ascended to the AUBC throne in hostilities held at the Trinity University of Asia in Quezon City and participated in by foreign schools Hangtuah University of Indonesia and Universiti Technologi MARI of Malaysia.

The opening ceremony of the 2014 AUBC showcase is set for October 22 at the Cebu Coliseum owned by Attorney Go of the University of Cebu.

The five-day international tourney is being organized by businessman-sportsman Lorenzo (Chao) Sy in coordination with the Asian University Basketball Federation (AUBF) and the Cebu City Sports Commission under the City Government of Mayor Michael Rama.

Honorable Cebu City Mayor Michael Rama will be the guest speaker during the AUBC opening ceremony.

Prominent sports personalities invited to grace the opening are AUBF President Shin Dong Pa, AUBF deputy secretary general Park Hyun Mo, and CESAFI Commissioner Felix Tiukinhoy.

All-time Korean cage great Shin Dong Pa and Park Hyun Mo will accompany the Muongji University team to Cebu City. Muongji, whose head coach is Kim Nam Ki, seeks to duplicate its championship finish nine years ago.

Lorenzo “Chao” Sy is the chairman of the AUBC Organizing Committee.
Tags: henry liao Add / Edit Tags
Philippine Basketball


Visitor count:
Copyright © 2005 - 2013.