View Full Version : Cebu Basketball League (CBL)

02-14-2009, 02:30 PM
Does this league still exists today or was it renamed? Here's a Timeline about CBL, an article back in 1992

CBL Tourney opens March 29

Nine teams, led by defending champion M. Lhuillier, will be seeing action when the 1992 CBL Open tournament fires off March 29 at the USC gym.
The Jewelers of coach Yayoy Alcoseba, 1990 Grandslam champion, are again highly favored to retain the title largely due to the presence of top slotman and PBL-bound lou regidor, rocky bacalao, mario naron and jun cabanca.
expected to crowd M.Lhuillier for the crown are VFI El Rancho, which has Mike Orquillas, star forward of the Beef Loaf Men and a supporting cast of Lowell Briones, Allan Cabradilla and Tata Fernandez, Balls Disco and PLDT, with UV champion coach Hermes Sumalinog.
The other teams that have signed up for the summer tourney are Golden Sun Pottery Arts, with talented coach butch Cenabre calling the shots from the bench, and manned by slotman Roquito Rios, hotshooting Dodong Ypil and top pointguard Jun Canizares, Sports Summit, Baseline Restaurant, Cebu Central Colleges and Salazar Institute of Technology.
The CBL has opted to keep the status quo during last month's annual election of officers.
VFI bossman Albert Chiongbian is still at the helm. but Ben Sun, now a director and three time president of the association, has remained very supportive of the activities of this premier amateur league outside Manila.

02-18-2009, 08:03 AM
The CBL no longer exists. It was followed by the CBF, then the MICAA, but both leagues have also folded. Cebu is practically zero in the local commercial league. Sad, but this used to be the leagues where collegiate players got their much-needed exposure before moving up to the big leagues.....

02-18-2009, 09:15 AM
* * *It can be said that the beginning of the end of the CBL was when several of the teams bolted away to form the CBF, thus rendering the CBL into a two-against-one affair pitting two teams owned by Michel Lhuillier -- the M. Lhuillier Jewellers and the Western Union Money Movers -- against Osaka Iridology of Jonathan Guardo. Guardo's teams would then go on hiatus thus leading to a dual meet between the two sister teams.

* * *Despite the formation of the CBF, the CBL continued to exist and held invitational tournaments that brought in teams from outside of Cebu.* By January of 2003, the CBL held its last activity, the Sinulog Cup which was won by ML Kwarta Padala of Coach Eddie Ybanez, beating their sister team Jewellers of Coach Raul "Yayoy" Alcoseba in the one-game finale.* The following month, the two teams merged to form Cebu's entry in the National Basketball League (NBL).