View Full Version : FEU Qualifies For The 5th Collegiate Champions League (2007)

Dark Knight
11-07-2007, 12:21 PM
First assignment, MLQU Stallions.

If we lose, then lock this thread......... ;D

Remember, we are back to back champions in 2003 and 2004.

Dark Knight
11-07-2007, 12:26 PM
Archers, Lions head Champs League cast

By Romina Austria

MANILA, Philippines -- They have proven that they’re the best in their respective leagues. It’s time to test their true worth when ranged against other champions.

The country’s best collegiate teams, led by University Athletic Association of the Philippines champion De La Salle University and National Collegiate Athletic Association winner San Beda College, will mix it up in the Fil-Oil/Flying V 5th National Collegiate Champions Cup starting Saturday at the Ninoy Aquino Stadium.

The Green Archers earned the top seeding in the 16-team with the Red Lions ranking second.

Ateneo de Manila University, UAAP third placer, and defending champion University of the East are seeded third and fourth, respectively.

La Salle capped its comeback from a one-year suspension with a sweep of UE in the UAAP finals. It was the Taft-based squad’s seventh league championship since joining the league in 1986.

San Beda beat Letran College for its second straight title and 13th overall.

Players seeing action in the Philippine Basketball League (PBL) will be allowed to play for their respective college teams, according to chair Reynaldo Gamboa.

Last year, UE defeated San Beda in the tournament final with Jose Rizal University placing third over Mapua Institute of Technology.

University of Santo Tomas, Far Eastern University, JRU, San Sebastian College and Mapua are also in the Champions’ League fold.

Other league titlists competing are Manuel L. Quezon University (CUSA), STI (NAASCU), St. Francis of Assisi College (UCAA), University of Visayas (CESSAFI), West Negros College (Negros).

Rounding out the cast are Tacloban’s Sacred Heart College, Unigames third placer Lyceum of the Philippines University and the winner of the ongoing Davao collegiate league.

La Salle, UV, San Sebastian and the Davao champion are bracketed in Group A while the Warriors head Group B, which also includes FEU, MLQU and STI College.

San Beda is in Group C along with UST, Mapua and Sacred Heart College.

Group D is made up of Ateneo, JRU, WNC and Lyceum.

The champion of the knockout-format event, which will run until Nov. 28, wins P500,000 worth of sports scholarships. The next three finishers will get P200,000, P100,000 and P50,000.

Smart Communications Inc. has also put up special prizes for the Most Valuable Player (M.V. Pangilinan Cup awardee), Mythical teams, best defensive team, coach of the series and the best performing referee

11-07-2007, 01:17 PM
Wish ko lang.. Sana kasama si Pipo. ;D

Dark Knight
11-07-2007, 09:59 PM
Wish ko lang.. Sana kasama si Pipo.* ;D

How i wish too. ;D Pero 2009 pa sya pwede.

Dark Knight
11-10-2007, 10:02 PM
Good start by the Tams by defeating the MLQU Stallions 91 - 80. Best player si Baracael. But this means nothing as UE is most likely our next assignment.

At least, we get past the first round. ;D

Dark Knight
11-13-2007, 10:09 PM
Round of 8


Go Tamaraws!! (buti na lang umatras UE) ;D

Dark Knight
11-20-2007, 10:12 PM
Big game tomorrow for the right to face the mighty UV Lancers.

Dark Knight
11-22-2007, 12:53 AM
Damn Balneg and Flor. ;D

Congrats STI. :)

11-22-2007, 11:14 AM
Nadaan kayo sa veteran smarts Dark. ;D

Hope to see more of Tamaraws this offseason

Dark Knight
11-22-2007, 11:21 AM
Magkikita pa tayo sa FMC Open bossing ;)

Dark Knight
08-14-2008, 11:45 PM
Thread locked. Thanks for the replies.