PDA

View Full Version : RP team using wrong strength training methods??

pachador
08-20-2007, 06:40 AM
RP team using wrong strength training methods??

Guys, this is a very important issue that the SBP and RP team staff really need to look into if true.

I have noticed during the run-up to the Jones Cup and later to the FIBA-Asia that the RP team was prone to various injuries and issues with game performance . At that time, I did not want to say anything because I wanted to be supportive, but in the back of my mind I was wondering if incorrect strength training methods or overtraining of the muscles was the cause. I say this because I have been lifting weights since the 1980s and I'm knowledgable with strength training principles.

However, a poster in PEX, bchemist who is a strength trainer for Sonny Thoss, Eman , and teams mentioned that and i quote:

"I'll give you a little feedback on what I learned of his training under the RP team. He disappeared for a few days to train with the RP team about 6 weeks ago(this looks like before the FIBA-Asia). What he said that stood out in my mind was how he was forced to lift weights with the RP team, even when they know he already has a program that has improved him, and will continue to do so. He still has a long way to go since his foundation training is not even complete before he is safe to under go plyometrics.